Fashion that doesn’t cost the earth- Greenpeace and the Toxic Threads campaign

I would say that I have a strong interest in personal style. I like beautiful patterns, sumptuous fabrics, and finding that perfect ‘fit’. Often, I will also sacrifice comfort for style (much to the chagrin of my husband- he still doesn’t know why I have a closet full of shoes and yet not one pair is comfortable for a hike!). But, since the recent high-profile collapse of the garment factory in Bangladesh that had been housing several Canadian retail brands, I have come to question some of the ethical consequences of my buying decisions.

Standards in garment production are not only a concern for the people making our clothes, but also for the environment. Greenpeace recently launched a campaign called Toxic Threads, which calls big brands such as Calvin Klein, Zara and the Gap into account for the hazardous chemicals they use in producing their clothing. Once these clothing items reach the end of their life cycle (which is surprisingly a very fast process), they undoubtedly end up in landfills and leach toxins into the ground and the surrounding environment. Greenpeace is calling for such companies to change their practices and to seek safer alternatives.

I really like the article below that describes what Greenpeace is doing. It fits my vision for a fashionable lifestyle with a conscience. I, too, believe that my fashion choices shouldn’t literally ‘cost the earth’.

http://www.greenpeace.org/international/en/news/Blogs/makingwaves/the-toxic-tale-behind-your-clothing/blog/43044/

What are your thoughts on this campaign?

7 thoughts on “Fashion that doesn’t cost the earth- Greenpeace and the Toxic Threads campaign

  1. This is my life summed up right now, T. I’m sure you know πŸ˜‰ I seriously can’t wait for the things you discover so I can learn through you too! Amazing.

  2. Tina, the interesting thing for me about reading your blog is that I now realize that I literally go through life not really questioning my consumerism, in general. I’ve never stopped to ask myself: “Where does my clothing come from? How was it processed? What are the standards of the companies manufacturing it? What happens to it when I throw it out? I find that as I take interest in learning more about the things that are important to you, I begin to have an awareness for things that I didn’t even consider before, and really and truly, I am discovering that they are important to me too. In fact things like this affect us all. I also realize that by having the mentality to just join the sheep herd, follow the masses, or do what most other people are doing, that I’m not really taking responsibility for my contribution to environmental toxic waste by empowering these “bad” companies. I look forward to reading and learning more from your posts. Can you mention some clothing companies that you prefer to shop with because you find them to be the “lesser evil”? That way I can make a point to change my habits. Oh, and can you mention to me again the name of that makeup company you discovered and like? Thanks so much sis!

    • Hi Aundene, I am glad my blog is inspiring you to think more broadly about your consumer decisions! I think the reason why more people don’t take the time to identify environmentally and socially conscious retailers is because it is sometimes more costly and it requires a bit of extra creativity. With this blog, I hope to help others overcome these obstacles by featuring great companies to shop at. But also, I think that thrift stores carry great product that often gets overlooked by the environmentally conscious shopper, so I will also be featuring current trends that can be captured by thrifting or DIY. Keep reading for more!

      P.S. The makeup company I like is called ‘Tarte’ and it can be found at Sephora. I like them because they don’t test on animals but would have to do so some further research to tell you more about the company. Maybe I will do a feature on them shortly!

  3. What a refreshing and interesting post. I am afraid not enough of us consider the after effects of our consumerism. I am also upset with the toxic dyes used, on behalf of the laborers and we the buyers. Thanks for thinking to bring thi up!
    XX, Elle@
    http://mydailycostume.com/

    • Thanks for visiting Elle! I agree that toxic dyes are also problematic. I fear that when we dismiss fashion as unimportant, all of these concerns are subsequently overlooked, which is one of the reasons why I wanted to start this blog. I will try to feature shops that are doing something to remedy these issues in the coming posts, so check back soon!

Leave a Reply

