Oh happy at home: DIY Greeting Cards

It’s been a hectic week for me. Working full-time hours is not something I’ve done for a long time, and since I’m also adapting to a new job, let’s just say my resources have been pretty drained lately. Having said that, I don’t at all regret that I managed to squeeze in a little craft date with some friends on Saturday. I find crafting to be very therapeutic, and it allowed me the time I needed to de-stress. Not only that, but we made greeting cards, which will be a lovely way for me to re-connect with loved ones at home on the other side of the country. Here are some photos of our little DIY project in progress:

IMG_0393 IMG_0395 IMG_0392 IMG_0394

Some of us used dried and pressed flowers, while others crafted with bits and scraps of pretty paper. One of my friends also hit up Urban Source Alternative Art Materials, a little shop on Main St. in Vancouver that sells discards and misprints (that would otherwise end up in landfills) for crafting purposes (http://www.urbansource.bc.ca). It’s a great feeling to make beautiful things out of what others deem to be ‘trash’.

I invite you to do a little DIY with greeting cards- and I challenge you not to buy anything new but to collect bits and scraps of what you already have. You might be surprised at what you are able to dig up!

7 thoughts on “Oh happy at home: DIY Greeting Cards

  1. Tina, I love those cards, especially the one that says now home without you.
    I was making cards for a while, and it was fun, and theraputic as you say. Then i moved on to Mosaics… that was fun, too. I hope your full time job gives you some time to chill. XX, Elle
    @
    http://mydailycostume.com/

Leave a Reply

