Learning to Affirm Myself, Positively

Okay, so I know it’s been a while since I posted anything. The fall brought many transitions for me; namely, I started grad school. This clearly made me busier and less motivated to keep up with the blogging, but it also caused me to lose sight of what this blog is about: happy living. Of course I was super happy to have the opportunity to learn something new, at a brand new school in a brand new city. But while I was excited to take on this new journey in my life, I also unknowingly packed a few extra ‘bags’ of self-doubt for the trip, making for some trying times ahead.

The last few months have been full of ups and downs plus a lot of questions involving my own self-belief. Could I really take on the workload of a master’s program? Could I converse with ‘intellectuals’? Was I ‘intellectual’ enough? Innovative enough? Courageous enough? Would people even like me? These thoughts and questions swirled around in my head over and over again, choking the fun out of being a student and making me forget what it was like to be happy. Months went by before I realized that I needed to do some active thought replacement therapy if I was going to rid myself of those pesky negativities once and for all. Hence, my latest crafting activity.

In the midst of another self pity party I was having as a result of an unsuccessful job application, I decided I would make a positive affirmations jar. I took a note-pad and wrote down positive statements for myself to remember, folded them up, and stuffed them into a mason jar. The statements are simple and are designed to remind me of the good in situations when I seem to have forgotten (such as, “when life brings challenges, I know that they are just opportunities in disguise”, or, “I have the smarts to do whatever I put my mind to”). I plan to take a few statements out next time I’m having a hard time remembering what happy living is about. Call it cliché, but I’m willing to give this thing a shot! Check out what a positive affirmation jar could look like below:

affirmation jar

Photo credit: http://katieorse.typepad.com/katie_orse_close_to_my_he/business/

On my own version, I attached a gift tag given to me by my sister with the following quote by Mark Twain: “Twenty years from now, you will be more disappointed by the things that you don’t do than by the one you do do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from safe harbour. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” I felt it was a fitting label. 🙂

Leave a Reply

