Oh happy at home: recycled paper pinwheel garland

Living Room

IMG_1113

Last weekend, I celebrated my birthday with a party chez moi. Decorating has always been fun for me but poses a challenge in that I am trying not to spend unnecessary money and create unnecessary waste. The standard balloons and streamers obviously didn’t make the cut. Instead, in my search for recycled DIY decorations, I found a great and simple tutorial for making paper pinwheel party garland you see pictured above, over the window in our apartment. I used leftover tissue paper and printed paper that I had lying around the house, and some old garden twine. I also love the idea of using old book pages or maps, which can create more of a vintage effect.

It’s been a week since my party and I still haven’t taken down this garland. I’m thinking it might become a permanent fixture in our living room. In contrast to balloons that look deflated and soggy after a couple of days, I am definitely happier with this recycled approach. 🙂

To make your own recycled paper pinwheel party garland, follow this simple tutorial:

http://www.ellaclaireinspired.com/2012/04/vintage-book-page-pinwheel-banner.html

Happy crafting everyone!

 

Leave a Reply

